is me.

~Independent
2007-01-25 - 6:15 p.m.

There are pros and cons to being too independent and private about some things. I know a lot of the cons (e.g. not always getting enough support), but here's an example of the pros of being private and the cons of being open.

I recently got a bill for my car insurance. I've been paying it all at once because it is cheaper and I've been with RACV for at least seven years with no claims and a rating 1 for life. The payment for '07 is due in about a month. The price has gone up by close to $200. So it's just ridiculous.

Well, I've been looking up quotes online and I can definitely do better, so I'm continuing my research to get the best balance of price and cover. Well, I mentioned this to Dad, in the spirit of sharing what was going on at the time, and he asked if I'd rung up RACV yet to find out why the price had risen (although I suspect they'll just say I'm in a high-risk area). I hadn't, because I'd figured that when I rang up to say I wanted to cancel my insurance they'd ask why and we'd get into it then. However, it wasn't a bad idea and I said so - I even rang them two days ago, but got them at a busy time and they recommended that, if I didn't want to wait, I ring at a less peak time, so I'll do that (but haven't yet).

So yesterday Dad asked if I'd rung the RACV yet and I had to explain what had happened and reassure him that I would ring them again soon. Today he was on the phone to his insurance agency and asked if I wanted him to get a quote for me. I said no thanks, that I'd rather do it myself (which I would, because then I can hear exactly what they have to say and ask any questions I think of and so forth, besides which I just would rather be in control), but he still offered a few more times. After he'd hung up, he said that he could easily have got a quote for me just then. He couldn't understand why I would pass up an opportunity to get more information straight away when he offered it, so I had to work very hard to be extremely calm and appreciative but reiterate that I wanted to do it myself. Besides, I'm actually too tired to think about insurance at this moment, but it wasn't even worth mentioning that as a reason ("excuse"). This is what happens, you see. Interested people, particularly parents, find out one thing and then they keep tabs on your progress, give unwanted advice and generally get on one's nerves.

Contrast that to the situation with the two private school positions that fizzed out. For both of them, even though I didn't actually apply for the second one in the end, I had to find out about the position, put together an application and cover letter, prepare my portfolio and a few other bits and pieces and I did it all without mentioning it to my parents. I possibly wouldn't even have told them about the interview if I'd had one, although that may have been awkward if I came back and said "by the way, I've got a job". Regardless, both of those positions did fizz out and the result is that the whole thing been relatively painless. I haven't had to tell anyone what happened, keep them updated, explain to them how I feel or anything like that. It' s just a simple "oh well" to myself and moving on. This is one reason I like keeping things to myself. Much as I like the comfort of living at home (ADSL, air con, no rent or utility bills, shared chores, someone to get rid of spiders), I am ready to move out. Not in a screaming "aaargh I can't stand it anymore" way, but I just am ready. I won't be able to afford it for a while, but I anticipate it will happen this year, unless I just don't have the income or I something else happens to change my plans.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.