is me.

~Not About My Day
2005-01-12 - 1:00 p.m.

(Written last night:)

I want to laugh again, really laugh. Everything called comedy seems so lame. Of course things are still funny. I laughed a lot at that Edith Head-like character in The Incredibles, but the rest of the film, while at times funny, was not a film that had me laughing all over the place. I still laugh at lines in Buffy that I've forgotten, but there are so few really hilarious ones that I don't remember now. I miss the way I would laugh and laugh at older episodes of Friends or Mad About You or Absolutely Fabulous. I miss laughing and laughing at Tripod, Jimeoin or Lano & Woodley. Everything that is funny seems to be merely amusing right now and I miss that humour that makes me laugh throughout the whole episode/movie/performance. I suppose I also miss that rolling-around-sides-hurting laughter that comes spontaneously with Emma or Dianne at unexpected times - the kind where you just can't stop laughing, even when you've got no breath left.

There are no really good sitcoms at the moment. Probably the best humour is happening in shows like Spongebob Squarepants! Certainly, programs like Everybody Loves Raymond are clever and funny, but they lack some extra special spark that would just make you laugh and laugh like in earlier episodes of Friends - or in those old BBC sitcoms like Dad's Army or Yes, (Prime) Minister. And there aren't really any wonderful comedy shows on TV. Rove, Live, the Panel and The Glasshouse all have their moments (not that they're currently on over Summer), but they don't consistently come up with funny funny new stuff. We need Hey, Hey, It's Saturday, Good News Week or The Micallef Pogram (sic).

(I think I've maybe quoted this before, but I love the scene in one of The Micallef Pogram episodes which is based on one of those old old French black and white classics.There's this man struggling along the beach and he sees a pale, robed figure with a scythe...

Man: Who are you?
Death: I am Death.
Man: WHO ARE YOU?
Death: I am Death!
Man: WHAT. IS. YOUR. NAME?
Death: I AM DEATH!
Man: Wh - Oh sorry, I thought you said you were deaf...)

Interestingly, even this "updating daily" thing, which I've now well and truly got into the habit of, as I've nothing better to do right now (expect this all to change when Dad goes back to work, let alone when I do!), doesn't really involve any more insight into my day to day life. Not that my journal has ever been with that intention. I don't write in here thinking "Ooooh, I'll tell everyone all about my trip to the supermarket! They'll be sooo fascinated!" Hehe. However, it would've been nice if some extra updates on the day had happened naturally, since I like that so much in some of the journals I read. Although I also like the ponderings, since I wonder so much what is really going on in people's heads.

Well: Today was very very very very hot. I stayed at home all day. I spent most of it on the computer. We had takeaway delivered from the pizza shop and I had chicken wings, chips and garlic bread, of which I only finished the chips and the rest are in the fridge. Dianne and Tim came over to watch my cousin Karen's wedding video. At 1:20am, the cool change has finally come and there's a lovely fresh breeze coming through my window, which makes me reluctant to go to bed as I can't sleep with the window and bedroom door open.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.