is me.

~In Which I Babble In Great Detail About Morning Routine
2005-09-17 - 11:42 a.m.

(Written last night:)
So tonight Mum and I went to Dianne's to pick up tickets for Charlie & the Chocolate Factory, which I'm seeing with my choir gang tomorrow, and drop off tickets for the open day for Dad's work. She invited us to stay for tea and I said only if we have proper food. They have a tendency to get take-away and I knew that we'd be a perfect exception to healthy eating. Normally, I wouldn't have cared much, but I have eaten so much crap in the past three weeks that I can't stand anymore (well, apart from the milky way Mum bought each of us). We had a lovely Cajun chicken and they had risotto while Picky Jan had potatoes that had been crisped up in the pan. Yummmy.

I feel now like I'm ready to start a detox kind of thing. Obviously, I have no alcohol, drugs or even coffee to purge from my system, but I've had a lot of fatty, oily and chocolately substances. I've also had a lot of neck and shoulder problems but, which has been worse, my migraines have recurred and remained hovering around with my neck/head problems for three weeks, too. My neck/head pains started building before that - they haven't really been good since camp.

What I'd really like to do is to start a morning walking routine. It'd be lovely to train myself over the holidays to get used to walking in the morning - then I'll have started each day with exercise. I'm not totally sure how realistic this is: I really enjoy walking in the mid or late afternoon when the sun is out and I've spent my mornings productively. I very much like getting things done in the morning and doing more leisurely things in the afternoon. However, many days it's started raining by the afternoon. If I only get in 15 or 20 minutes in the morning it'd be better than nothing. I could always go out again later if I wanted to - and I'm sure Mum or Dad would go, because they usually do if they have time.

Realistically, it may not always work. I do need my sleep-in during the holidays as much as my exercise. I've been run-down, so I need to get that extra hour or two in the morning to recuperate. I also usually wash my hair every second morning, which I also procrastinate over (the drying moreso than the washing, but it sometimes prompts me to snuggle into bed for a little longer). So, if I get up at 8:00am, eat something, get dressed etc. I'd probably be out walking by 8:20-30; if I walk for half an hour I'd be back by 9:00 and then would need to have a shower; I'd probably have the shower plus all of the before and after stuff done in 25 minutes, then I'd eat something else breakfasty for about 10 minutes and spend around 20 minutes drying and styling my hair. We're looking at not really being out of the house for shopping etc. 10am is fine if I'm up by 8am, but if I don't get up til 9:30 (respectable during the holidays), then we're looking at almost midday.

Still, if I'm not washing my hair or have nowhere to go in the morning, getting out for 30 minutes in the morning might be very possible.

We have to remember that this is lazy me we're talking about.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.