is me.

~More Teeth & Cheeks
2006-03-12 - 6:08 p.m.

I started this in the LJ blog and then realised it was long and should really be documented here...

My cheeks feel fat INWARDS...They didn't really start swelling until two days after my operation - or, the anasthetic didn't wear off for me to notice until then. My cheeks are a little bit fatter than usual, although they're always chubby, but it's more in between my top & bottom teeth that they've swollen, so I can't really bite.

Not that I'm supposed to be chewing anything for about another three days! It's driving me CRAZY. I miss food. Not fancy food, just things like chicken or potatoes or biscuits. Anything that isn't strained soup or ice cream or nutella. I think that I may be able to handle some jelly ("jello") today and I might try some very small pieces of soften bread in my soup that don't require any chewing.

Yesterday my bleeding seemed to have finally stopped properly, but I had slept very badly and pain had taken over bleeding, so I spent most of the day sooking in the arm chair. Well, I wasn't really sooking, but there's constant hurting all along my jaws and I hate putting ice on it for the swelling because the ice pushes my cheeks inwards and that's where all the swelling's growing anyway.

I could be a lot worse, I know I could be a lot worse, but I'm still pretty miserable. It's lucky that I splurged and bought a whole lot of new DVDs on Wednesday - and that the parents are being unbelievably good - especially for Dad - at letting me have free reign of the TV. I know it won't last long, but Dad's left me alone fo the weekend and, after that, I think I can cope so long as he continues his shift-worker routine of sleeping til after midday (I seem to be at my worst in the mornings) and going to work in the evening. That means that, once he's had enough of being considerate, I'll hopefully only have three or so hours in the afternoon to cope with his pervasive presence taking over the main living area.

I think I wish two things more than anything: That I could get more sleep (and then maybe not be so weak and woozy all day) and that I could eat some soft foods like cake, or even the jelly. I know I'll just have to be patient and that it could be a lot worse, but it's still not fun!

It's time for some more voltarin tablets, so I might try a shower...ooh, that'd be nice.

Well, I'm coping.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.