is me.

~A Hex On Uni
2002-07-12 - 1:45 p.m.

My uni fees are due by the 19th but Mum and Dad don't return until the 25th/26th. I would pay them myself and have Mum and Dad pay me back, but I don't have over $1200 in my bank account! I would use the B-Pay phone banking system, but Mum and Dad never use that so they don't have a B-Pay number to ring for their bank or a B-Pay password set up. The only other way to pay, apart from B-Pay (for which I do have a password) is by cheque, but then I'd have to send the cheque over to Mum and Dad for them to sign and send back...urgh!

So I came to the conclusion that I'd have to HECS it. HECS is the Higher Education Contribution Scheme. It bascially is a student loan from the Government and you don't have to pay it back until you start earning above a certain amount of money. Most people can't afford to pay up-front fees so that's what they do. I'm very lucky that Mum and Dad make sure they save enough to pay for my fees at the beginning of each semester.

But I got an email from uni today about fees that said there are forms at Student Admin. for the extension of the due date for fees, so now I'm hoping I can get a week's extension on my fees so Mum and Dad will be home in time to sign the cheque. It will be a bit annoying if, after everything, I have one semester's worth of HECS to pay off. I mean, it's much, much preferable to four years' worth, but it's annoying to have it all paid for except the last little bit. Especially as I'd said that if I went to England I'd HECS this semester's fees so it wasn't so expensive for Mum and Dad, but I'm not going and I still may have to HECS it because Mum and Dad are away. Oh well, at least I know I can deal with it.

I joined a few new rings and decided that I wanted a separate page for my diaryrings now. I haven't yet made a button for them, though, so the link is at the bottom of the entries.

(Oh, and in reply to the note left to me...I'm sorry, no, I'm not particularly a Pansy Parkinson fan - I'm a Hufflepuff at heart, after all!)



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.