is me.

~Final Day of Freedom
2002-07-14 - 4:35 p.m.

Eee eee the skin on my hands is all dry...I have old woman hands!!

In a way I don't really like having too many diaries to check, especially when I'm busy with uni or teaching rounds. I come home and have to get all my uni work or teaching preparation out of the way, then I seem to have so little time to catch up on anything and sometimes I haven't been on for a few days so there're multiple entries to catch up on. Once I start visiting a diary regularly I then feel like I have an obligation to continue visiting it and keeping up with the person's life, even when I've lost interest.

At the same time, often I'll read the two diaries that have actually updated and feel bored and wish I had some other interesting diaries to read. Well, I'm give two I found through the Buffy rings I signed up for a go. So far they seem reasonably interesting, but we'll see if the interest lasts long enough for me to add them to my favourites.

The problem with diaries and Changing Rooms and diary rings and usernames and all of that is I'm so ecclectic. Of course, there are some ways in which I'm less ecclectic than others, because I don't really go in for grotuitous violence or horror or suspense or any number of things. My taste definitely lies in the generally "nice" category. But it's still hard. A lot of people seem to find something they adore and want to fill their life with it: they love a particular band or movie or actor or hobby or colour or country... I can tell you lots of things I love: I love Buffy and Angel, I love Georgette Heyer, I love purple and blue, I love magic/fantasy/mythology...But I hate the way all of these things seem to pre-define me. Sometimes I get sick of purple and blue and all I want are some nice greens and yellows. Sometimes I'm in the mood for the action, wit & sophisticated storylines of Buffy but sometimes I'm really in a Little Miss Giggles mood. Sometimes I'm in a mystic mood while others I'm in a very serious down-to-earth mood and sometimes I'm in a silly mood. Sometimes I feel like listening to The Beatles, other time it's The Corrs, Tchaikovsky, Gilbert & Sullivan, Bic Runga, Bon Jovi, U2, The Superjesus, Irish folk or just pop-dance music. It's really, really hard to settle for one thing on a diary or in a bed room or anything when I feel it only suits me part of the time. It's like choosing an email address - ideally, I want something that suits me, which means it might be a bit quirky and not boring, but it also needs to be something that if I do need to give it to anyone I know in real life it's not embarassing to share (something I haven't achieved with my current one!).


Could it be any better? You're the one, you're Hello Kitty!
You're totally loved and lovely. You're the one person people know they can count on.
But bear in mind that even though you're only three apples tall, you can speak up!

Which Sanrio Character Are You?

Last night they had a New Zealand vs. Australia rugby union match on telly (I think it was one of the Bleddisloe Cup matches) and, discovering that Changing Rooms wasn't on as I thought and being in a sporting mood after watching my team (Geelong) beat Collingwood (boo), I settled down to watch a little bit. Then a question about the rules occured (I don't watch rugby union (or any rugby) that often) and I wished Dad was there to explain it to me. I sent Mum a text message saying "Where's Dad when you need him to clarify rugby rules??". This morning I got a reply saying "In Essex." :P Very cheeky mum!

*wails* I don't wanna go to uni tomorrow...bleh...



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.