is me.

~Present-giving
2004-02-28 - 6:00 p.m.

11:18 PM 27/02/2004

It's funny how people who've known me practically all my life can still make taste judgements for presents which are rather wrong. I'm thinking particularly of the matching earrings & hair clip that Sally & Emma gave me. They're both very nice and fancy (the presents, not Sally & Emma hehe), and I quite like them for what they are, but they're really not me. Seriously, how often have they seen me wear one of those big hair clips? Not ever since about year 10, probably, and certainly not recently. To be honest, where the hair clip is concerned it's more of a lack of ability to do my hair in a way that the hair clips look good and stay in that would stop me from wearing it, rather than taste. However, the earrings match, the colours are nice, and yet they're not quite my style. They're kind of circular/flower-shaped, made of a dirty silver metal with blue fake gems in them. Nothing wrong with them, but I was holding them up, doubtfully, to my ears in front of the mirror tonight and they just didn't seem to suit me. They're just not quite my style. Now that I've got them, I'll try to find an occasion to wear them - and, who knows, I may even grow to like them!

It's not that I mind getting presents that I wouldn't choose myself. They also gave me a lovely ceramic bowl-with-lid pot thing, which has a floral, Japanese-like green & pink design. I wouldn't have chosen that, but it's very nice and just the right size to put in all my stray hair clips. Just because a present is not what I would have chosen, it does not mean I won't like it or use it. Unfortunately, I just would never even consider wearing earrings like that on my own (apart from the fact that I currently, sadly, don't own many blue things to match anyway). Hopefully I'll be able to find clothes/moods/hair styles that work with them, because they're very nice and it'd be sad not to capitalise on a new pair of earrings. I love earrings, now that my ears have finally got used to them and don't get infected anymore when I take them in and out. I always, always spray the antisceptic ear spray on new earrings anyway.

After knowing me only a fraction of the time Emma and Sally have known me, Viv, as her very first present, gave me what really remain my favourite pair of earrings. Sometimes I like my brown dangly-beady butterfly ones the best, or some other new pair, but, ultimately, they're the pair I come back to the most and find always simple and classy and still special enough to make me feel happier wearing them. Funny how some people just pick your taste more easily.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.