is me.

~Listening To: Music From Suteks' Tomb
2004-10-07 - 8:57 p.m.

I've got a crush, on a giiiiirl! Hehe, ok, not really. I've been watching Bend It Like Beckham again, because I was feeling slightly misfitty and sorrowful, and that film has some of that. Mostly, though, it cheered me up no end. Oh, and it just tears my heart out how gorgeous and heartbroken Jo looks when Jess says they can't be together! *sniffles* He's definitely someone I'd add to my Boys in My Closet card collection (remember those, Laney?! Did I remember the name correctly?). Of course, the accent helps too. *foolish grin*

Actually, what prompted the opening comment (hehe which I couldn't resist saying), was Parminder Nagra, because I adore her. You know how there are just some actresses who really appeal in an overall sense? I love her acting, and her expressions and things...I just hope that she isn't really out of ER, coz I loved her character. But it reminds me of my recent re-reading of the Chalet School series, which was written over about forty years from the twenties onwards. It's about a girls' boarding school and they occasionally mention those "schoolgirl crushes" that girls get on older girls or teachers. It's kind of refreshing, in a way, to have that openness and innocence about things like that. These days nobody would say it because it would seem too lesbian, but it happens. Some people are just admirable, the way a guy in the 50s might have idolised Elvis Presely, or a lot of gay guys seem to adore Judy and Barbra. It's interesting, really.

Actually, one of the things that I love about Bend It Like Beckham (apart from it being another film about a sport I basically understand and half-follow - and apart from the romance!) is that it's one of those things where people can be who they are regardless of their sexual preference. It never ceases to annoy me how Kevin Klein in In and Out ended up being gay. GAH. I mean, I suppose it's all well and good and everything to be supportive of openness about homosexuality, but I don't think that it's really a bit deal media-wise these days. It's really not ground-breaking or opening people's eyes anymore to have a comedy about someone being gay. What really really really frustrates me is the real-life schtick people face these days for being heterosexual and yet interested in things stereotypically of the opposite gender. It's not so bad for women, it's really kinda cool to be into mechanics or sport or engineering, although far too much emphasis is still placed on being drooly over guys (which, despite some crushes, I never really was until the last years or two) and make-up and clothes etc. It's just sooo frustrating that guys can't be interested in classical music, or art, or acting, or cooking or, God forbid, sewing without being almost irrevocably labelled as gay. I mean, seriously, most of those things aren't even historically female-oriented. All the "great composers" were men, many of them happily married and reproducing (take the Bachs or the Strausses!), it's cool to be a male actor once you've reached Heath Ledger status...but taking part in school plays, let alone having dancing lessons, is something too many young guys are put off. It's just not fair! In fact, there's a boy in Lien's grade who's very sensitive and his best friend is a girl and he takes dancing lessons. There is no reason to think he's gay - he moves reasonably "mascunline", he loves building and is excited because his dad is going to teach him to weld, and is taking up football next year. Unfortunately, he's also become too scared of the ridicule and is quitting dancing. It's just breaks my heart, and makes me soooo angry! GAH!

Alrighty, I go to watch The Chaser Decides.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.