is me.

~He Didn't Do Anything Wrong
2005-01-26 - 11:17 a.m.

I've become spoiled by the recent documents part of the start menu - and the quick-start toolbarthingy down the bottom. I think it's been a while since I've actually used the programs part of the start menu, so I hadn't realised how very full it had become! They are mostly valid things, such as three different program folders that came as part of our new scanner software. However, after a day of saving lots of images in PSP, I went to my document menu to open notepad via a recently-saved journal entry and found there were no notepad documents in there anymore; they had been superceded by the PSP images.

I like going to the document menu and opening an old journal file (and then making it a new document) because it is quicker to open than navigating through the start menu and it means that when I go to save my new file, it will automatically give me the option of saving in my journal entries folder first, instead of me having to go a-searching for it.

When I discovered I had to go to the start menu, it wasn't really a very big deal, except that it took me such a long time to actually get to the accessories folder, where notepad is, because of all the other programs and program folders in the menu. I like keeping my program menus and desktop very streamline and basic. It irritates me having the menu really long and really irritates me having it go to two columns. It would have taken me longer than usual to locate the accessories folder anyway, but instead I kept getting distracted by looking for programs I could remove from the start menu, totally uninstall, or put into some other program menu folder (which annoys me anyway because I like to open up the start menu and just be able to go *click*).

This is the culprit of the document menu debacle:

*grins* I don't really bother making lots of LJ user icons usually. I love my Snoopy and Woodstock ones so much (especially as my LJ is supposed to be my "bookslist" and my Woodstock icon has him sitting on top of a pile of books: the perfect mesh of two things I love!) and I don't have a paid account, so I don't have enough icon space to make lots of different ones and change them for my mood, anyway. I just love that Billy Boyd quote, although only the real LotR film devotees will be able to place it.

In fact, I'd got so used to my lovely Woodstock one I'd forgotten about my Snoopy one. I looove snoopy, so I'm going to use him more from now on.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.