is me.

~Good Night
2006-10-15 - 12:47 p.m.

Yesterday, after choir, I drove into the city and picked up my friend Peter (who I met overseas) and his boyfriend Shaun, who're down from Brisbane.

I hate social things. I enjoyed spending time with Peter in Europe and Scotland, but it's often different when there's nothing new like that to share and talk about. And then there's Shaun. I'm sometimes so, so awkward around new people!!

I shouldn't have worried! I'd forgotten how well Peter and I get along - we've got the same laid-back, humourous, interested way about us and we never lacked for conversation. We just talked about stuff. It helped that they were new to Melbourne and I could babble away about that (I'd had a great choir rehearsal, had managed to navigate around the city calmly, felt that I was looking fairly decent and was tired - all things that go towards babbly Janette!). Shaun was also very nice - very easy to get along with. So we had a very relaxed, chatty night. We went to dinner at Docklands and then went to Lygon St (where all the Italian restaurants are) for gelati. That was one of our things in Italy - sampling different flavours of gelati from different shops and different cities.

So it was a good night! I had fun and it wasn't awkward. I love that I now get to go out and not be awkward. I hardly ever used to go out and, when I did, it was usually to people's birthdays or something where I'd know so few other people or it'd be all about the loud music and dancing that I really felt uncomfortable. Often I just wouldn't go (I usually had a constant headache anyway, so a little bit of stressing about going out always made it bad enough to be a good excuse!). Last night I was afraid I'd get a headache! What a nice change!

There are still so many things in my life that I want to work on - being more organised, getting more healthy in my habits and just in my chronic problems are the main things - but I look back and I see how far I've come and sometimes I feel quite proud and - which is sometimes (because there are still so many things I need to improve at that I often think about them instead) even nicer - really pleased.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.