is me.

~Retail Therapy? Stars in My Eyes.
2004-05-20 - 7:43 p.m.

It's funny how some stories affect one so much, despite the fact that they ultimately are made up and have nothing to do with anything. But I've jumped in at the end, as usual!

You remember how I mentioned in my blog that I needed to start saving? Apparently, that resolve starts tomorrow! Oh wait, not including the 25th, when Return of the King comes out on DVD. I had the day off today, as I'd felt pretty awful yesterdee, and decided to take the opportunity to go to Central School Supplies for some teacher resource books. They're only open from 9-5 on weekdays, which is no good to me as they're too far away for me to drop in easily after work. I proceeded to spend about $140 on teacher resource books and worksheet books. Then I went to HP, not only to spend more money on educational books from Dymmocks, but also to buy X-Men 1.5 and Bend It Like Beckham.

The latter was a bit of a risk. I wanted to see it very much when it was in the cinemas but, as often seems to happen, I didn't get around to it. For an independent cultural film about soccer that had no major stars in it, I was surprised at how much my American friends liked it. Even though I'm aware that Soccer is gaining popularity over there, it said something about the film that my friends, who aren't really interested in any sport, enjoyed it as much as I'd imagined I would. After all, I love Goodness Gracious Me and subsequently The Kumars at No. 42, so I didn't see why something from the same creative pot would fall flat for me, it was just that, even in Australia, those shows aren't really mainstream.

Let me digress for a moment. It's funny that watching British things is no longer mainstream. As it is not only my cultural heritage, but has been the norm in Australia during my mum's youth (and Dad's, but he spent the first 16 years in the UK), it feels to me that everyone should naturally have the experience of watching Parkinson, Ab Fab or the Last Night of the Proms. Ab Fab, at least! I think it was brought home to me yet again that this is no longer the case when the Harry Potter films came out. Of course, I wouldn't expect my American friends to recognise all the British faces, but I couldn't turn to Maree, for instance, and point out Shirley wasserface (Moaning Myrtle) from Hamish MacBeth (hehe Emma and Sally used to quote her by saying in a soppy Scottish accent "Boot Hairmish, I love yooeh"). Nor could I ask Viv to help me figure out in exactly what Dickens drama, or other period piece, I had seen Filch in. It's not just Alan Rickman and Maggie Smith who're well known in these films. Almost every adult who appears in this film, without exaggeration, I have seen in something, even if I can't place it. But many of my main cultural influences are no longer mainstream, even though my culture is the dominant one in my society.

But anyway, I've grown to love watching Parminder Nagra in ER, so it was a joy to watch her in this film, as well as to see Keira Knightley in something where I was more absorbed in her natural character, then distracted by her weird smile. I don't dislike Keira Knightley, but she hasn't really impressed me in Pirates of the Caribbean, Love Actually or snippets of that Marion-Robin Hoodesque children's series that I've seen. I suppose the name of Knightley, even if it is spelled with an e, is a hard one to live up to after Jeremy Northam. Speaking of gorgeous...whoo, how about Jonathan Rhys-Meyers (Joe)? If I could stop drooling at the accent long enough to admire the charm.

The point of all this babble is that it was a modest film with a modest storyline, but well acted and had a well-developed ending, instead of those silly last-minute everything's alright ones. Most important, it just made me feel so bouyant at the end. I was dancing around to the closing credits and feeling very uplifted. It's funny how a happy ending in a film can make me so happy, too!

Note to self: Must read Ella Enchanted before the film comes out. Have you seen that cast list?? Hugh Dancy! Carey Elwes! Minnie Driver! Eric Idle! Parminder Nagra! Joanna Lumley! And I thought Anne Hathaway was charming in The Princess Diaries and will probably find I recognise some of the faces even if I don't know the names reading the cast list.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.