is me.

~Somewhere inside something there is a rush of greatness
2005-10-29 - 10:22 a.m.

I think one of the reasons that I love the music from musicals so much is that it takes me on a journey. No matter how moving contemporary music is, there's nothing that compares with that feeling of getting emotionally involved in the story as it develops through the songs. It gets to a point where I don't even have to listen to the whole thing to tap into the emotion generated by the musical. I went to see Phantom in the cinemas with Sally & Emma and neither of them were especially impressed with it. I found parts disappointing or whatever but, by the end of it, I was bawling. For me, it was like listening to the music with pictures to go with it. It's just so sad and the music makes me tingle.

I've just copied Dianne's Hair CD onto the computer. I haven't listened to it since I was in high school and I'd forgotten about the Flesh Failures/Let the Sun shine at the end, so I just listened to that bit. It's haunting and so wistful and bittersweet. It took me as long as hearing the first note to get into the mood all over again and I can still feel it because the song's playing in my head now. I hadn't forgotten how much I love Hair, I'd just forgotten the feeling I get from listening to it.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.