is me.

~Stupid Foot Stupid Body
2006-01-08 - 5:32 p.m.

I assume Dianne and Tim will have a somewhat traditional wedding, so I assume I'd be her bridesmaid. Assuming all of this, I'm suddenly not looking forward to the reality of their wedding. Urgh, it's not so much the dress, because I suppose I'll just have to wear whatever Dianne chooses, but it's having to wear awful heeled shoes and having all the dancing and stuff. I hate all of that bit. See, I have a shocking time finding heeled shoes that fit my high and wide feet in the best of circumstances. Since before I got my orthotics, though, my left foot got so bad I could bearly walk properly in runners and now I can't spend any length of time without my orthotics. That just means walking around in slippers or normal shoes is uncomfortable after about 5 minutes and sometimes excruciatingly painful after 15. So, imagine me walking around in shoes with any kind of heel. Then imagine me doing that without my orthotics. Then imagine me doing that in dainty-heeled shoes, because there's no way my sister's letting me wear chunky-heeled shoes at her wedding. Then imagine me standing around during the ceremony in these things! Urgh.

Then, there's the whole dancing bit of weddings these days. It was bad enough when they had old-fashioned music and you had to have a partner to dance with. These days, it's all energetic grooving and bopping that I just don't enjoy, so I end up sitting around boredly for ages while everyone dances. Well, I suppose there'll be lots of people I know at Dianne's wedding, so I'll just have to take my shoes off and mingle at the other tables. Goodness I dread these kind of things, though.

Of course, part of it would all be better if I lost about 10kg and therefore felt a little better about my looks. Oh, and if my underarms didn't have ugly dark hairs that can't be fully shaved away. If I was rich...even relatively wealthy...I think I'd seriously contemplate getting laser hair removal thingy on my underarms. I was looking at it the other day and they say the perfect type is dark hair with pale skin, so there's me (at least, my underarms are pale)!

I think I'd have such a great style if I could only fit into more things/if more things suited me (because I think I'll always be reasonably broad-shouldered and bumpy-hipped no matter how much weight I lose). I was browsing the Neiman Marcus web site that Laura got me onto. Few of the dresses really grabbed my attention (and there was maybe one that I thought in reality I would look anything other than frumpish in), but this dress is exactly what I would love to be able to wear. It's neat and fairly classic, not loud or out-there, but it's fun and a bit different and a bit sexy.

Or this kind of thing:

Hmm, I've been putting Deep Heat or, when it's too hot, Gel Ice on my neck and shoulders to take away some of the aches and stiffness; I wonder if this would help at all with my Plantar Fasciitisy kind of problems in my foot.



previous - next



~ ~
RECENT ENTRIES

~The Outlook
~Angsty Future Worrying
~Exercise Determination
~Goals, Aspirations, Plans
~Independent

















Click for Melbourne, Victoria Forecast


All content copyright Janette 2003. Headings from Sway by Bic Runga and Forgive Me by Evanescence.